Bee well

I was reading this month’s issue of Skirt! magazine (www.skirt.com) and ran across an ad for Bee Well Wishes (www.beewellwishes.com).  This is a lovely company that developed after a woman had a tumor while pregnant, but due to feeding tubes and allergies, could not accept the loving gifts of food and flowers.  Instead, her favorite gift was a pair of comfy pajamas.  I cannot tell you how many days I have spent in pajamas over the last six years.  When you are severely disabled, all you can do is sit around in bed.

I think that the “bee” design is very poignant.  Bees remind me of the bittersweetness of life.  Sometimes we have to go through a horrible sting in order to get something as sweet as honey.  I even have a tattoo of a bee on my back.  Mind you, Melissa means “honeybee” in Ancient Greek, so it reminds me of something that is near and dear to my heart.  While in the hospital recently for depression, I even decided to make my own “feel-good” pillow case which reminded me of the good things in my life.  On it, I drew a bee.  Little did I know that a company was already out there making blankets and pillowcases with the same design for just the same purpose.

So, the next time you feel the urge to send someone a gift who is ill, please turn to this company.  Believe me, flowers will die and food will be consumed, but pillowcases, blankets, and pajamas will be used time and time again.  And everytime the recipient looks at this lovely gift, she will remember all of the wishes to “Bee Well,” and her spirit will be renewed.

Leave a Reply

